Mouthpiece (an entire novel appropriated from Saxophone forums)

20121030-085255.jpg

Check it out!

A 600+ page appropriated extravaganza about the saxophone mouthpiece, taken from saxophone forums on the internet, capturing esoteric details and concerns about brands in the life of a saxophone player in this day and age.

Excerpt:

Rico Royal Metalite Fans!

Just wondering if anyone else has a problem with the Metalites cutting into the cork on the neck? It’s an M Tenor. Is it an issue these have or just a sign that i need to cork? My old piece never did this. PMeyedoc

Rico Royal Metalite Fans!

my alto piece did this. That would be another modifi- cation I’d want in addition to removing that “ledge” ta- ble and rails!

Rico Royal Metalite Fans!

have a friend who could use a metalite for bari do you have any recommendations regarding top opening he currently plays a selmer C* I believe.

Rico Royal Metalite Fans!

Just received two new Metalites Alto M and Tenor M. I ordered them wrong (I wanted them the other way round M for alto M for tenor but both are safe within my ability to control them well). Interestingly they’ quite different looking from the baritone ones I own (two Ms one older one quite new (one and a half years old)) Their surface is polished like the one on the Graf- tonites and the baffle is shaped differently from the baritone pieces. On those the baffle has a sharp edge on the new pieces this edge is replaced a considerably tilted area (maybe degrees?) so the baffle has a sort of extra step. Has this always been the case on tenor and alto pieces? I like the sound of the baritone pieces bet- ter compared to the new pieces they both sound fuller and are easier to blow and control; I’d say that the ba- ritone pieces are better allaround pieces than the alto and tenor pieces. The alto M is still a fun piece to play since it offers abundant amounts of volume. The tenor piece is very bright (I might have to switch reeds to counter that). Still both pieces play well when com- pared to others especially considering their price. Even if the tenor piece is the least convincing it still beat a Berg / (similar opening…) I had used for some time now on my YTS. On a slightly different note the piece that surprised me most of the batch I ordered wasn’t a Metalite this time but a measly Graftonite A for alto!

This one plays deceptively similar to my ARB Great Neck * (not quite as warm and full but very even). It also outplays the Yamaha C (a mouthpiece that costs just about the same) several orders of magnitude… M. @Koen Have him try an M. It’s more open the C* but it’s an easy blow. I think M is a better choices than M since it’s already quite flexible (not quite as much as a M or M though) without requiring a monster player’s embouchure. Of course if the C* feels like hard work M is the only way to go (and may or may not work out…). M.

Rico Royal Metalite Fans!

Have him try an M. It’s more open the C* but it’s an easy blow. I think M is a better choices than M since it’s already quite flexible (not quite as much as a M or M though) without requiring a monster player’s em- bouchure. Of course if the C* feels like hard work M is the only way to go (and may or may not work out…). M. thank you He plays quite often (not as much I’d like to see) and I think the M would be good. But I’ll ask him.

Rico Royal Metalite Fans!

Definitely just got an M and a clarinet M in the mail today as an xmas gift. The M is quite the leap (about .”) in opening for me but i really want this to be a hob- by piece if I really like it maybe more then. The pieces were bundled new on ebay for like $. I really needed/wanted the clarinet piece needing something for jazz clarinet work though I have heard they can be quite hit and miss. But hey pieces for $?!

Leave a Reply

